To use this site properly, please turn on cookies, Here's How!

About Kew

Kew is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 6 km east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its local government area is the City of Boroondara. At the 2011 Census, Kew had a population of 23,876.

Formerly a city in its own right, the cities of Kew, Hawthorn and Camberwell were amalgamated in 1994 to form the City of Boroondara. The suburb borders the Yarra River to the west and north, with Hawthorn to its south and Balwyn to its east.

State Victoria
Created 1927
Electors 36,904 (2010)
Area 24 km2 (9.3 sq mi)
Demographic Metropolitan
Download Map


Members for Kew

Sir Wilfrid Selwyn Kent Hughes
1927 - 1949

Sir Arthur Gordon Rylah
1949 - 1971

Sir Rupert James Hamer
1971 - 1981

Prudence Anne Sibree
1981 - 1988

Jan Louise Murray Wade
1988 - 1999

Hon Andrew John McIntosh
1999 - 2014